MR Licence cost: course providers compared
We compared 10 MR licence providers. Published prices run $850 to $1,595, taken from each provider's own course page and sorted cheapest first. Nobody pays for their position.
Last checked 10 October 2026. Prices change, so confirm with the provider before you book.
Need the rules first? Read the MR licence key facts and FAQ.
Western Australia (2)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mega Truck Training RTO 53025 | $850 | 4 hours plus truck use for the test | face-to-face | Kelmscott WA | MR course, automatic or synchromesh, $850 for 4 hours of training plus use of the truck for the test. Extra hours are $140 each. The page's FAQ says most learners need 6 to 8 hours, so budget above the headline price. Page lists C class held 1 year, an MR learner's permit, a Department of Transport eye test and minimum age 18. |
| Win Win Truck Training | $900 | 4 hours | face-to-face | Bertram WA | MR automatic and MR manual are each $900 for 4 hours. Includes a Department of Transport approved instructor, a test-ready MR truck for the practical driving assessment, pre-start checks, practice on likely Perth MR test routes, and manoeuvre and slow-speed practice. The page names a partner RTO but does not tie it to the MR course, so no RTO number is shown. |
- Duration
- 4 hours plus truck use for the test
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Kelmscott WA
- RTO
- 53025
MR course, automatic or synchromesh, $850 for 4 hours of training plus use of the truck for the test. Extra hours are $140 each. The page's FAQ says most learners need 6 to 8 hours, so budget above the headline price. Page lists C class held 1 year, an MR learner's permit, a Department of Transport eye test and minimum age 18.
- Duration
- 4 hours
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Bertram WA
MR automatic and MR manual are each $900 for 4 hours. Includes a Department of Transport approved instructor, a test-ready MR truck for the practical driving assessment, pre-start checks, practice on likely Perth MR test routes, and manoeuvre and slow-speed practice. The page names a partner RTO but does not tie it to the MR course, so no RTO number is shown.
Queensland (5)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Driving School RTO 91655 | $880 | 1 day | face-to-face | Arundel QLD, Morayfield QLD | MR Licence in a Day for Condition A and B only. The page shows $915 in the main listing and $880 in the course popup, so the lower figure is used. Warm-up drive and test $435, lessons $160 an hour. Separate TMR booking fee ($80, or $75 in the popup) and knowledge test ($29.70, or $28.70 in the popup) are listed on the page. RTO 91655 (RAISE Training) delivers on the school's behalf. |
| Shift Training | $895 | 4 hours training plus practical driving test | face-to-face | Crestmead QLD | MR Original Deal $895: 4 hours of training plus the practical test, automatic or manual, insurance included, can be split over days. Ultimate Deal $1,195 gives 6 hours. Hourly lessons $150 (minimum 2 hours). Resit lesson or test $495. Package deals do not include TMR or admin fees. No RTO number is shown on the page. |
| BHV Training | $950 | 4 hours training plus 1 hour practical test | face-to-face | Sandgate QLD | Licence in a Day standard course $950: 4 hours of driver training plus the 1 hour Queensland practical driving test, with the test booking fee included. Ultimate Medium Rigid course $1,250 gives 6 hours of training. Lessons $160 an hour (minimum 2 hours). No RTO number is shown on the page. |
| Purple Truck Driving School | $984.5 | 4 hours training plus test | face-to-face | Toowoomba QLD | MR synchromesh Licence in a Day $984.50 including GST. Includes the Queensland test costs, 5 hours of truck hire and 4 hours of training. Extra lessons $176 an hour. No RTO number is shown on the MR page. |
| School of Transport | $1,595 | 1 day | face-to-face | Arundel QLD | MR $1,595, automatic only, 1 day. Extra driving time $160 an hour. The page is the NSW price list and the provider also lists an Arundel QLD office, so confirm which state's course the price covers. No RTO number is shown on the page. |
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Arundel QLD, Morayfield QLD
- RTO
- 91655
MR Licence in a Day for Condition A and B only. The page shows $915 in the main listing and $880 in the course popup, so the lower figure is used. Warm-up drive and test $435, lessons $160 an hour. Separate TMR booking fee ($80, or $75 in the popup) and knowledge test ($29.70, or $28.70 in the popup) are listed on the page. RTO 91655 (RAISE Training) delivers on the school's behalf.
- Shift Training$895
- Duration
- 4 hours training plus practical driving test
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Crestmead QLD
MR Original Deal $895: 4 hours of training plus the practical test, automatic or manual, insurance included, can be split over days. Ultimate Deal $1,195 gives 6 hours. Hourly lessons $150 (minimum 2 hours). Resit lesson or test $495. Package deals do not include TMR or admin fees. No RTO number is shown on the page.
- BHV Training$950
- Duration
- 4 hours training plus 1 hour practical test
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Sandgate QLD
Licence in a Day standard course $950: 4 hours of driver training plus the 1 hour Queensland practical driving test, with the test booking fee included. Ultimate Medium Rigid course $1,250 gives 6 hours of training. Lessons $160 an hour (minimum 2 hours). No RTO number is shown on the page.
- Duration
- 4 hours training plus test
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Toowoomba QLD
MR synchromesh Licence in a Day $984.50 including GST. Includes the Queensland test costs, 5 hours of truck hire and 4 hours of training. Extra lessons $176 an hour. No RTO number is shown on the MR page.
- School of Transport$1,595
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Arundel QLD
MR $1,595, automatic only, 1 day. Extra driving time $160 an hour. The page is the NSW price list and the provider also lists an Arundel QLD office, so confirm which state's course the price covers. No RTO number is shown on the page.
New South Wales (3)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro Action Driver Training | $1,150 | 1 day | face-to-face | Penrith NSW, Minchinbury NSW | MR $1,150 for 1 day, automatic or synchromesh. Includes HVCBA training and assessment, the vehicle and one-on-one coaching. Service NSW fees are extra. No RTO number is shown on the page. |
| GLR Training (Gwydir Learning Region) RTO 40724 | $1,450 | See site | face-to-face | Gwydir Shire NSW | MR $1,450. An additional final competency assessment is listed at $200. The page says the MR course is AgSkilled funded for eligible people. Course length and delivery venue are not stated on the page, so the location is the Gwydir Shire Council area only. |
| School of Transport | $1,595 | 1 day | face-to-face | Arundel QLD | MR $1,595, automatic only, 1 day. Extra driving time $160 an hour. The page is the NSW price list and the provider also lists an Arundel QLD office, so confirm which state's course the price covers. No RTO number is shown on the page. |
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Penrith NSW, Minchinbury NSW
MR $1,150 for 1 day, automatic or synchromesh. Includes HVCBA training and assessment, the vehicle and one-on-one coaching. Service NSW fees are extra. No RTO number is shown on the page.
- Duration
- See site
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Gwydir Shire NSW
- RTO
- 40724
MR $1,450. An additional final competency assessment is listed at $200. The page says the MR course is AgSkilled funded for eligible people. Course length and delivery venue are not stated on the page, so the location is the Gwydir Shire Council area only.
- School of Transport$1,595
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Arundel QLD
MR $1,595, automatic only, 1 day. Extra driving time $160 an hour. The page is the NSW price list and the provider also lists an Arundel QLD office, so confirm which state's course the price covers. No RTO number is shown on the page.
Victoria (1)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wodonga TAFE RTO 3097 | $1,470 | 1 day | face-to-face | Barnawartha North VIC, Shepparton VIC | MR $1,470 (2026 fee), 1 day on campus. Course code IA14MR. |
- Wodonga TAFE$1,470
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Barnawartha North VIC, Shepparton VIC
- RTO
- 3097
MR $1,470 (2026 fee), 1 day on campus. Course code IA14MR.
Where to next
- White Card providers Compare White Card course prices and delivery.
- Standard 11 providers Compare Standard 11 course prices and delivery.
- Working at Heights providers Compare Working at Heights course prices and delivery.
- Confined Space providers Compare Confined Space course prices and delivery.
- EWP providers Compare EWP course prices and delivery.
- Rigging providers Compare Rigging course prices and delivery.
- Dogging providers Compare Dogging course prices and delivery.
- Forklift providers Compare Forklift course prices and delivery.
- First aid providers Compare First aid course prices and delivery.
- LR licence providers Compare LR licence course prices and delivery.
- HR licence providers Compare HR licence course prices and delivery.
- HC licence providers Compare HC licence course prices and delivery.
- MC licence providers Compare MC licence course prices and delivery.
- excavator ticket providers Compare excavator ticket course prices and delivery.
- skid steer ticket providers Compare skid steer ticket course prices and delivery.
- loader ticket providers Compare loader ticket course prices and delivery.
- dump truck ticket providers Compare dump truck ticket course prices and delivery.
- dozer ticket providers Compare dozer ticket course prices and delivery.
- telehandler ticket providers Compare telehandler ticket course prices and delivery.
- chainsaw ticket providers Compare chainsaw ticket course prices and delivery.
- gas test atmospheres providers Compare gas test atmospheres course prices and delivery.
- breathing apparatus providers Compare breathing apparatus course prices and delivery.
- silica awareness providers Compare silica awareness course prices and delivery.
- asbestos awareness providers Compare asbestos awareness course prices and delivery.
- Plan your tickets Work out which certifications to get first for the role you want.
- How to get into mining The steps from no experience to a first mine site job.