HC Licence cost: course providers compared
We compared 12 HC licence providers. Published prices run $1,177 to $2,800, taken from each provider's own course page and sorted cheapest first. Nobody pays for their position.
Last checked 10 October 2026. Prices change, so confirm with the provider before you book.
Need the rules first? Read the HC licence key facts and FAQ.
Western Australia (4)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blue Horse Truck Driver Training | $2,490 | 10 hours | face-to-face | Canning Vale WA | HC weekday $2,490 for 10 hours (8 on-road). Extra hours $265 each. Re-assessment $990. |
| Mega Truck Training RTO 53025 | $2,500 | 10 hours | face-to-face | Kelmscott WA | Weekday $2,500, weekend $2,750. Unit TLIC3005 is shown on the page. Provider states the price includes the training vehicle on test day, PPE and the Department of Transport assessment fee. |
| Perth Transport Training Academy RTO 52969 | $2,500 | 9 to 19 hours | face-to-face | Perth WA | HC automatic $2,500 (9 hours), $2,750 (17 hours) or $3,250 (19 hours). Extra hours $250 each on weekdays. HC re-assessment $1,500. Inclusions are not stated on the pricing page. |
| Central Regional TAFE | See site | 3 weeks plus 11 hours driving | face-to-face | Kalgoorlie WA, Northam WA, Geraldton WA | HC is delivered at Geraldton only, as part of the heavy vehicle driving operations skill set. Tuition is $0.00 for eligible WA residents (fee-free). The student pays Department of Transport and WorkSafe fees listed on the page ($273.70 for HC, $92.00 WorkSafe, $63.50 processing). |
- Duration
- 10 hours
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Canning Vale WA
HC weekday $2,490 for 10 hours (8 on-road). Extra hours $265 each. Re-assessment $990.
- Mega Truck Training$2,500
- Duration
- 10 hours
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Kelmscott WA
- RTO
- 53025
Weekday $2,500, weekend $2,750. Unit TLIC3005 is shown on the page. Provider states the price includes the training vehicle on test day, PPE and the Department of Transport assessment fee.
- Duration
- 9 to 19 hours
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Perth WA
- RTO
- 52969
HC automatic $2,500 (9 hours), $2,750 (17 hours) or $3,250 (19 hours). Extra hours $250 each on weekdays. HC re-assessment $1,500. Inclusions are not stated on the pricing page.
- Central Regional TAFESee site
- Duration
- 3 weeks plus 11 hours driving
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Kalgoorlie WA, Northam WA, Geraldton WA
HC is delivered at Geraldton only, as part of the heavy vehicle driving operations skill set. Tuition is $0.00 for eligible WA residents (fee-free). The student pays Department of Transport and WorkSafe fees listed on the page ($273.70 for HC, $92.00 WorkSafe, $63.50 processing).
Queensland (4)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Purple Truck Driving School RTO 91655 | $1,177 | Licence in a Day | face-to-face | Toowoomba QLD | Synchromesh Licence in a Day $1,177. Provider states it includes GST, QLD transport test costs, 5 hours of truck hire and 4 hours of professional training. Open Road Ranger lesson fee $217.80 per hour. Via RAISE Training (RTO 91655). |
| The Driving School RTO 91655 | $1,725 | Licence in a Day | face-to-face | Gold Coast QLD, Brisbane QLD | HC Licence in a Day $1,725 covers Condition A and B only. Condensed Training Course $2,955. Lessons $205 per hour. Warm up drive and test $700. TMR test booking fee $80 listed separately. Delivered with RAISE Training (RTO 91655). |
| School of Transport | $2,195 | 1 day (7 hours plus final competency assessment) | face-to-face | Tweed Heads NSW, Gold Coast QLD | NSW price list. HC 1-day course is $2,195 (automatic or synchromesh only, $205 per hour). Road Ranger 2 to 3 days is $3,195 (12 hours plus assessment). |
| 123 Training Solutions (Rockhampton) | $2,800 | Minimum 9 hours in 3-hour sessions | face-to-face | Rockhampton QLD | HC licence training 'from' $2,800, then a TMR practical test (the page quotes a wait of about 5 weeks). Road Ranger vehicles. Payment in full before or on the day. |
- Duration
- Licence in a Day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Toowoomba QLD
- RTO
- 91655
Synchromesh Licence in a Day $1,177. Provider states it includes GST, QLD transport test costs, 5 hours of truck hire and 4 hours of professional training. Open Road Ranger lesson fee $217.80 per hour. Via RAISE Training (RTO 91655).
- The Driving School$1,725
- Duration
- Licence in a Day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Gold Coast QLD, Brisbane QLD
- RTO
- 91655
HC Licence in a Day $1,725 covers Condition A and B only. Condensed Training Course $2,955. Lessons $205 per hour. Warm up drive and test $700. TMR test booking fee $80 listed separately. Delivered with RAISE Training (RTO 91655).
- School of Transport$2,195
- Duration
- 1 day (7 hours plus final competency assessment)
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Tweed Heads NSW, Gold Coast QLD
NSW price list. HC 1-day course is $2,195 (automatic or synchromesh only, $205 per hour). Road Ranger 2 to 3 days is $3,195 (12 hours plus assessment).
- Duration
- Minimum 9 hours in 3-hour sessions
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Rockhampton QLD
HC licence training 'from' $2,800, then a TMR practical test (the page quotes a wait of about 5 weeks). Road Ranger vehicles. Payment in full before or on the day.
New South Wales (3)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro Action Driver Training | $1,350 | 1 day | face-to-face | Penrith NSW, Minchinbury NSW | HC auto or synchro $1,350. HC Roadranger is $1,750 on the price card and $1,700 in the at-a-glance table on the same page. Includes HVCBA training, training vehicle and 1:1 coaching. Service NSW fees are not included. |
| School of Transport | $2,195 | 1 day (7 hours plus final competency assessment) | face-to-face | Tweed Heads NSW, Gold Coast QLD | NSW price list. HC 1-day course is $2,195 (automatic or synchromesh only, $205 per hour). Road Ranger 2 to 3 days is $3,195 (12 hours plus assessment). |
| 123 Training Solutions (NSW) RTO 91655 | $2,250 | 1 day | face-to-face | Mayfield NSW, Ballina NSW, Casino NSW, Lismore NSW | Automatic HC $2,250 for 1 day. Unrestricted HC $3,450 for 2 days (automatic on day 1, condition B removal on day 2). Extra days $1,300. A $300 fee applies to redo the final competency assessment after a road rule breach. Delivered with RAISE Training (RTO 91655). |
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Penrith NSW, Minchinbury NSW
HC auto or synchro $1,350. HC Roadranger is $1,750 on the price card and $1,700 in the at-a-glance table on the same page. Includes HVCBA training, training vehicle and 1:1 coaching. Service NSW fees are not included.
- School of Transport$2,195
- Duration
- 1 day (7 hours plus final competency assessment)
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Tweed Heads NSW, Gold Coast QLD
NSW price list. HC 1-day course is $2,195 (automatic or synchromesh only, $205 per hour). Road Ranger 2 to 3 days is $3,195 (12 hours plus assessment).
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Mayfield NSW, Ballina NSW, Casino NSW, Lismore NSW
- RTO
- 91655
Automatic HC $2,250 for 1 day. Unrestricted HC $3,450 for 2 days (automatic on day 1, condition B removal on day 2). Extra days $1,300. A $300 fee applies to redo the final competency assessment after a road rule breach. Delivered with RAISE Training (RTO 91655).
South Australia (1)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Adelaide Truck Training Centre RTO 40315 | See site | See site | face-to-face | Regency Park SA | Cost is by quote only: the page says to contact the office. Vehicles supplied. A fuel surcharge may apply. CITB rebates are mentioned. |
- Adelaide Truck Training CentreSee site
- Duration
- See site
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Regency Park SA
- RTO
- 40315
Cost is by quote only: the page says to contact the office. Vehicles supplied. A fuel surcharge may apply. CITB rebates are mentioned.
Northern Territory (1)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Charles Darwin University | See site | See site | face-to-face | Northern Territory | Listed on the NT approved training providers page for HR, HC and MC. No price is published on that page and the CDU course page would not load, so no price is shown. Five other NT providers are on the same page: Logic Transport Training, Northern Territory Training Services, Advanced Industry Training, Batchelor Institute and Responsive Training. |
- Charles Darwin UniversitySee site
- Duration
- See site
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Northern Territory
Listed on the NT approved training providers page for HR, HC and MC. No price is published on that page and the CDU course page would not load, so no price is shown. Five other NT providers are on the same page: Logic Transport Training, Northern Territory Training Services, Advanced Industry Training, Batchelor Institute and Responsive Training.
Where to next
- White Card providers Compare White Card course prices and delivery.
- Standard 11 providers Compare Standard 11 course prices and delivery.
- Working at Heights providers Compare Working at Heights course prices and delivery.
- Confined Space providers Compare Confined Space course prices and delivery.
- EWP providers Compare EWP course prices and delivery.
- Rigging providers Compare Rigging course prices and delivery.
- Dogging providers Compare Dogging course prices and delivery.
- Forklift providers Compare Forklift course prices and delivery.
- First aid providers Compare First aid course prices and delivery.
- LR licence providers Compare LR licence course prices and delivery.
- MR licence providers Compare MR licence course prices and delivery.
- HR licence providers Compare HR licence course prices and delivery.
- MC licence providers Compare MC licence course prices and delivery.
- excavator ticket providers Compare excavator ticket course prices and delivery.
- skid steer ticket providers Compare skid steer ticket course prices and delivery.
- loader ticket providers Compare loader ticket course prices and delivery.
- dump truck ticket providers Compare dump truck ticket course prices and delivery.
- dozer ticket providers Compare dozer ticket course prices and delivery.
- telehandler ticket providers Compare telehandler ticket course prices and delivery.
- chainsaw ticket providers Compare chainsaw ticket course prices and delivery.
- gas test atmospheres providers Compare gas test atmospheres course prices and delivery.
- breathing apparatus providers Compare breathing apparatus course prices and delivery.
- silica awareness providers Compare silica awareness course prices and delivery.
- asbestos awareness providers Compare asbestos awareness course prices and delivery.
- Plan your tickets Work out which certifications to get first for the role you want.
- How to get into mining The steps from no experience to a first mine site job.