LR Licence cost: course providers compared
We compared 8 LR licence providers. Published prices run $620 to $1,470, taken from each provider's own course page and sorted cheapest first. Nobody pays for their position.
Last checked 10 October 2026. Prices change, so confirm with the provider before you book.
Need the rules first? Read the LR licence key facts and FAQ.
Western Australia (2)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Win Win Truck Training | $650 | 3 hours | face-to-face | Bertram WA | LR automatic $650 for 3 hours. Includes one-on-one training, a Department of Transport approved LR automatic truck, full practical driving assessment preparation and truck hire for the assessment. The page does not list an RTO number for the LR course. |
| Keen Bros | See site | See site | face-to-face | Maddington WA | Rigid licence page covers LR and MR with a C class licence held for 12 months. The page lists the unit as TLIC2002 and gives no price, duration or inclusions, so contact the provider for a quote. Phone (08) 9493 5151. |
- Duration
- 3 hours
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Bertram WA
LR automatic $650 for 3 hours. Includes one-on-one training, a Department of Transport approved LR automatic truck, full practical driving assessment preparation and truck hire for the assessment. The page does not list an RTO number for the LR course.
- Keen BrosSee site
- Duration
- See site
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Maddington WA
Rigid licence page covers LR and MR with a C class licence held for 12 months. The page lists the unit as TLIC2002 and gives no price, duration or inclusions, so contact the provider for a quote. Phone (08) 9493 5151.
Queensland (2)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Driving School RTO 91655 | $620 | 3.5 hours training plus about 30 minutes practical test | face-to-face | Arundel QLD, Morayfield QLD | LR Licence in a Day $620: 3.5 hours of training plus the practical driving test in the school's vehicle. Lessons $130 an hour, warm-up drive and test $295. The $80 TMR practical test booking fee and $29.70 knowledge test are listed separately on the page. RTO 91655 (RAISE Training) delivers on the school's behalf. |
| School of Transport | $1,295 | 1 day | face-to-face | Arundel QLD | LR $1,295, automatic only, 1 day with about 6 hours of driving plus the final competency assessment. Extra driving time $130 an hour. The page is the NSW price list and the provider also lists an Arundel QLD office, so confirm which state's course the price covers. No RTO number is shown on the page. |
- Duration
- 3.5 hours training plus about 30 minutes practical test
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Arundel QLD, Morayfield QLD
- RTO
- 91655
LR Licence in a Day $620: 3.5 hours of training plus the practical driving test in the school's vehicle. Lessons $130 an hour, warm-up drive and test $295. The $80 TMR practical test booking fee and $29.70 knowledge test are listed separately on the page. RTO 91655 (RAISE Training) delivers on the school's behalf.
- School of Transport$1,295
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Arundel QLD
LR $1,295, automatic only, 1 day with about 6 hours of driving plus the final competency assessment. Extra driving time $130 an hour. The page is the NSW price list and the provider also lists an Arundel QLD office, so confirm which state's course the price covers. No RTO number is shown on the page.
New South Wales (3)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro Action Driver Training | $880 | 1 day | face-to-face | Penrith NSW, Minchinbury NSW | LR $880 for 1 day, automatic or synchromesh. Includes HVCBA training and assessment, the vehicle and one-on-one coaching. Service NSW fees are extra. No RTO number is shown on the page. |
| GLR Training (Gwydir Learning Region) RTO 40724 | $1,200 | See site | face-to-face | Gwydir Shire NSW | LR $1,200. An additional final competency assessment is listed at $200. Course length and delivery venue are not stated on the page, so the location is the Gwydir Shire Council area only. |
| School of Transport | $1,295 | 1 day | face-to-face | Arundel QLD | LR $1,295, automatic only, 1 day with about 6 hours of driving plus the final competency assessment. Extra driving time $130 an hour. The page is the NSW price list and the provider also lists an Arundel QLD office, so confirm which state's course the price covers. No RTO number is shown on the page. |
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Penrith NSW, Minchinbury NSW
LR $880 for 1 day, automatic or synchromesh. Includes HVCBA training and assessment, the vehicle and one-on-one coaching. Service NSW fees are extra. No RTO number is shown on the page.
- Duration
- See site
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Gwydir Shire NSW
- RTO
- 40724
LR $1,200. An additional final competency assessment is listed at $200. Course length and delivery venue are not stated on the page, so the location is the Gwydir Shire Council area only.
- School of Transport$1,295
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Arundel QLD
LR $1,295, automatic only, 1 day with about 6 hours of driving plus the final competency assessment. Extra driving time $130 an hour. The page is the NSW price list and the provider also lists an Arundel QLD office, so confirm which state's course the price covers. No RTO number is shown on the page.
Victoria (1)
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wodonga TAFE RTO 3097 | $1,470 | 1 day | face-to-face | Barnawartha North VIC, Shepparton VIC | LR $1,470 (2026 fee), 1 day on campus. Course code IA14LR. A retest is $390 plus $195 an hour. |
- Wodonga TAFE$1,470
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Barnawartha North VIC, Shepparton VIC
- RTO
- 3097
LR $1,470 (2026 fee), 1 day on campus. Course code IA14LR. A retest is $390 plus $195 an hour.
Where to next
- White Card providers Compare White Card course prices and delivery.
- Standard 11 providers Compare Standard 11 course prices and delivery.
- Working at Heights providers Compare Working at Heights course prices and delivery.
- Confined Space providers Compare Confined Space course prices and delivery.
- EWP providers Compare EWP course prices and delivery.
- Rigging providers Compare Rigging course prices and delivery.
- Dogging providers Compare Dogging course prices and delivery.
- Forklift providers Compare Forklift course prices and delivery.
- First aid providers Compare First aid course prices and delivery.
- MR licence providers Compare MR licence course prices and delivery.
- HR licence providers Compare HR licence course prices and delivery.
- HC licence providers Compare HC licence course prices and delivery.
- MC licence providers Compare MC licence course prices and delivery.
- excavator ticket providers Compare excavator ticket course prices and delivery.
- skid steer ticket providers Compare skid steer ticket course prices and delivery.
- loader ticket providers Compare loader ticket course prices and delivery.
- dump truck ticket providers Compare dump truck ticket course prices and delivery.
- dozer ticket providers Compare dozer ticket course prices and delivery.
- telehandler ticket providers Compare telehandler ticket course prices and delivery.
- chainsaw ticket providers Compare chainsaw ticket course prices and delivery.
- gas test atmospheres providers Compare gas test atmospheres course prices and delivery.
- breathing apparatus providers Compare breathing apparatus course prices and delivery.
- silica awareness providers Compare silica awareness course prices and delivery.
- asbestos awareness providers Compare asbestos awareness course prices and delivery.
- Plan your tickets Work out which certifications to get first for the role you want.
- How to get into mining The steps from no experience to a first mine site job.