Card recognised in every state

White Card Course: Can You Do It Online?

A White Card is the general construction induction card (unit CPCWHS1001). Can you do it online? It depends on the state: VIC, NSW and the NT say no, Queensland allows live video classes only, and WA, SA, the ACT and Tasmania need a check with the regulator.

Last checked 6 October 2026. Rules and prices change, so confirm with the regulator or provider before you book.

Key facts

Unit code
CPCWHS1001
Price range
$55 to $190 (19 published prices)
Typical length
About 4.5 to 6 hours, depending on the state and provider.
Expiry
No fixed expiry. In NSW and WA the card goes void after two consecutive years away from construction work, and Queensland can require retraining on a similar basis.
Providers compared
21
Last checked
6 October 2026
Compare White Card providers

Can you do a White Card online?

Delivery rules are set by each state or territory regulator, so the answer changes where you work. Each row links to the regulator’s own page. Where a page does not say, we say so rather than guess.

  • NSW

    Face-to-face onlySafeWork NSW

    Not fully online. SafeWork NSW's conditions for RTOs say training is face-to-face and online learning is not permitted. Any live-virtual option needs separate SafeWork NSW approval, so check with SafeWork NSW before booking.

    Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.au
  • VIC

    Face-to-face onlyWorkSafe Victoria

    No. WorkSafe Victoria says construction induction training must be run face-to-face in a classroom and cannot be delivered online.

    Source: www.worksafe.vic.gov.au
  • WA

    Check with regulatorWorkSafe WA

    Unclear. The WorkSafe WA pages we read do not state a delivery rule, and some WA providers sell online courses that need proof you are in WA. Check with WorkSafe WA and use a provider scoped to deliver in WA.

    Source: www.worksafe.wa.gov.au
  • QLD

    Live video onlyWHSQ

    Not self-paced online. WHSQ conditions allow face-to-face in a classroom or approved live video delivery (connected real-time delivery). Self-paced learning is not allowed.

    Source: trainingombudsman.qld.gov.au
  • SA

    Check with regulatorSafeWork SA

    Unclear. SafeWork SA says it does not issue cards and an RTO issues the card after CPCWHS1001, but the page does not state a delivery rule. Check with SafeWork SA.

    Source: www.safework.sa.gov.au
  • ACT

    Check with regulatorWorkSafe ACT

    Unclear. WorkSafe ACT says training is through an RTO and the card must be applied for within 60 days, but the page does not state a delivery rule. Check with WorkSafe ACT.

    Source: www.worksafe.act.gov.au
  • NT

    Face-to-face onlyNT WorkSafe

    No. NT WorkSafe says online white card courses are not recognised in the NT. Use an approved NT RTO and train face-to-face.

    Source: worksafe.nt.gov.au
  • TAS

    Check with regulatorWorkSafe Tasmania

    Unclear. WorkSafe Tasmania sends candidates to an RTO for CPCWHS1001 and then to apply for the card, but the page does not state a delivery rule. Check with WorkSafe Tasmania.

    Source: worksafe.tas.gov.au

How much does a White Card course cost?

Published prices run $55 to $190 across 19 of the 21 providers we compared. Each figure comes from the provider’s own course page on 6 October 2026. See every provider, sorted cheapest first.

What are the rules for White Card?

  • WA (WorkSafe WA): general construction induction training is required for workers doing construction work in WA. Construction work is defined broadly (WHS General Regulations r.289: construction, alteration, fitting-out, renovation, repair, maintenance, demolition, excavation etc). PCBUs must ensure workers have it; judgement applies for incidental or escorted work.

    Source: www.worksafe.wa.gov.au
  • WA: training done in another State or Territory is recognised under the WHS General Regulations, so interstate workers need not redo the WA course if they can show evidence of home-State induction. Both blue and white card types are accepted.

    Source: www.worksafe.wa.gov.au
  • WA: card has no fixed expiry and remains valid while the holder stays in the construction industry; no mandatory repeat training, but if the holder leaves the industry for two consecutive years or longer the card becomes invalid.

    Source: www.worksafe.wa.gov.au
  • WA mine sites: if a worker carries out construction work on a mine site, the PCBU must ensure they have completed general construction induction (white card) training. If the training was completed more than two years ago, the worker must have carried out construction work in the past two years. A white card from another jurisdiction is accepted if it is a similar card issued by an authorised RTO and not cancelled. Work on mining plant counts as construction work only in limited cases (e.g. pipes, pipelines, underground tanks, fixed plant shutdowns involving 5 or more PCBUs).

    Source: www.worksafe.wa.gov.au
  • WA: RTOs may only issue the WA construction induction card to candidates who provide evidence they are located in Western Australia at the time of assessment (e.g. WA driver licence, WA student ID, utilities invoice with WA address).

    Source: www.worksafe.wa.gov.au
  • WA online delivery: an older WorkSafe WA/DMIRS fact sheet states 'Online will continue to be available through registered training organisations, scoped to deliver training in WA.' Provider pages in this dataset show WA online delivery (self-paced theory plus webcam practical or virtual classroom) with a must-be-in-WA condition. NOTE: the Queensland Training Ombudsman 2024 interstate table lists WA online delivery as 'No', so the current WA position on fully online delivery conflicts between sources; verify with WorkSafe WA before relying on it.

    Source: www.worksafe.wa.gov.au
  • NSW (SafeWork NSW): a white card is required for construction work including site managers, supervisors, surveyors, labourers and tradespeople, and for people who access operational construction zones without direct supervision by an inducted person.

    Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.au
  • NSW: the white card becomes void if you have not carried out construction work for two consecutive years or more (WHS Regulation clause 316, per SafeWork NSW). Must be at least 14 to take the training.

    Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.au
  • NSW recognises general construction induction cards issued by all other States and Territories (including Queensland white and blue cards, and WA cards issued after 1 July 2009) provided they remain valid in the issuing jurisdiction. Construction workers can work in NSW using cards issued by other States and Territories.

    Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.au
  • NSW online delivery: per the Queensland Training Ombudsman interstate comparison (data provided by WHSQ and endorsed by other jurisdictions), NSW online delivery is 'No' except via separately approved Real Time Connected Delivery (RTCD, live virtual classroom, max 10 participants), with 6 hours minimum duration and 20 max participants for classroom. Self-paced online is not accepted.

    Source: trainingombudsman.qld.gov.au
  • QLD (Business Queensland / WHSQ): construction industry workers must complete general construction induction training with an RTO delivering CPCWHS1001 (previously CPCCWHS1001); the RTO issues the general construction induction card (white card). Card must be kept on you while on site.

    Source: www.business.qld.gov.au
  • QLD delivery: WHSQ allowed online delivery until 2019. From 1 February 2019 all training had to be face-to-face (exception for rural residents more than 100km from an approved RTO). From November 2022: RTOs can be approved to deliver face-to-face via Connected Real Time Delivery (CRTD, live virtual classroom), class sizes capped at 15, minimum duration 4.5 hours, WHSQ-approved trainers only, 24 hours notice before a course, mandated assessment from July 2023. Self-paced online is not permitted in Queensland.

    Source: trainingombudsman.qld.gov.au
  • QLD two-year rule: for a lost, stolen or destroyed card, the replacing RTO must obtain a declaration that the person has carried out construction work in the preceding two years. Queensland also requires retraining where the holder completed training more than two years earlier and has not carried out construction work in the preceding two years (as reported in the Training Ombudsman review).

    Source: trainingombudsman.qld.gov.au
  • All Australian jurisdictions recognise a white card (or previous induction card) issued in another State or Territory (Queensland Training Ombudsman interstate comparison).

    Source: trainingombudsman.qld.gov.au
  • Interstate comparison (QLD Training Ombudsman, 2024): minimum or recommended duration QLD 4.5 hrs, NSW 6 hrs, VIC 6 hrs, SA 6 hrs, WA no specified minimum; only QLD and NSW use mandated assessment toolkits and nominated trainers.

    Source: trainingombudsman.qld.gov.au

White Card questions answered

Can you do a White Card online?

Not everywhere. Victoria, NSW and the NT regulators say online learning is not accepted, Queensland allows approved live video classes but not self-paced courses, and for WA, SA, the ACT and Tasmania the regulator pages do not say, so check with the regulator first. Only book a provider approved in the state where you will work.

How much does a White Card course cost?

Across 21 providers we compared, published prices run $55 to $190. These come from each provider's own course page, last checked 6 October 2026. Prices differ by state and by whether the course is online, live video or in a classroom.

How long does a White Card last?

There is no fixed expiry date. In NSW and WA the card becomes void if you do not carry out construction work for two consecutive years, and Queensland requires retraining in similar cases. A void card means you redo the course.

Is a White Card from one state valid in another?

Yes. Every Australian state and territory recognises a card issued in another, provided it is still valid in the state that issued it. Rules on online delivery still apply where you do the course.

Do I need a White Card to work on a mine site?

In WA, a worker who carries out construction work on a mine site must have completed general construction induction training. Work on mining plant counts as construction work only in limited cases. Check the mine's own requirements before you book.

What is the White Card unit code?

CPCWHS1001, Prepare to work safely in the construction industry. Older cards and provider pages may show the previous code CPCCWHS1001.

Where to next