Australian Capital Territory

White Card ACT: Canberra Courses, Cost and Application

In the ACT you complete the 6 hour construction induction course through an RTO, then apply through your own ACT Digital Account within 60 days. Access Canberra issues the card for WorkSafe ACT. The card does not expire unless cancelled. Assessment can take up to 6 weeks.

Last checked 13 October 2026. Rules and prices change, so confirm with WorkSafe ACT or the provider before you book.

White Card ACT at a glance

Unit code
CPCWHS1001
Regulator
WorkSafe ACT
Online?
Unclear. WorkSafe ACT says training is through an RTO and the card must be applied for within 60 days, but the page does not state a delivery rule. Check with WorkSafe ACT.
Price in ACT
$149 (2 published prices)
ACT providers compared
2
Last checked
13 October 2026

White Card courses in Australian Capital Territory

Published prices run $149 across 2 of the 2 ACT providers we compared, taken from each provider’s own course page and sorted cheapest first. Nobody pays for their position.

  • Duration
    6 hours
    Delivery
    face-to-face
    Where
    Canberra
    RTO
    32252

    $149 including GST. Classroom based.

  • Duration
    6 hours
    Delivery
    online live/virtual classroom
    Where
    See site
    RTO
    46244

    ACT price from $149 (provider's own page, first checked 2026-10-06). The provider describes ACT delivery as self-paced assessment plus live verification. WorkSafe ACT and Access Canberra do not state whether online delivery is accepted, so confirm before booking.

Working in another state? Every White Card provider we compared, by state.

White Card rules in Australian Capital Territory

  • ACT (WorkSafe ACT): construction induction training is completed through an RTO, and the white card must be applied for within 60 days. The page does not state whether online delivery is accepted.

    Source: www.worksafe.act.gov.au
  • ACT (Access Canberra): workers must complete general construction induction training (WHS Regulation s317). If that training was more than 2 years ago, they must have done construction work in the preceding 2 years. Access Canberra issues the card on behalf of the WorkSafe ACT Commissioner.

    Source: www.accesscanberra.act.gov.au
  • ACT (Access Canberra): the unit is a 6 hour program completed through an RTO. Apply within 60 days of the statement of attainment. After that you need a written declaration from the RTO.

    Source: www.accesscanberra.act.gov.au
  • ACT (Access Canberra): you must apply using your own ACT Digital Account. A parent or guardian cannot apply for you.

    Source: www.accesscanberra.act.gov.au
  • ACT (Access Canberra): assessment can take up to 6 weeks and the card is posted within 2 weeks of approval. The card does not expire unless it is cancelled.

    Source: www.accesscanberra.act.gov.au
  • ACT (Access Canberra): while you wait for approval, your application receipt and training certificate are enough to work. If the application is not approved you must stop work.

    Source: www.accesscanberra.act.gov.au
  • ACT (Access Canberra): the card is recognised for construction work in any state or territory, and under WHS Regulation 318 the ACT recognises interstate cards.

    Source: www.accesscanberra.act.gov.au
  • ACT (Access Canberra): the application fee is set each financial year by the WHS (Fees) Determination. The Access Canberra page states no dollar figure.

    Source: www.accesscanberra.act.gov.au
  • ACT (Access Canberra): to replace a card, link it in your ACT Digital Account and apply. Cards issued before 2010 in another state must be replaced by that state's authority. Phone 02 6207 8096 or email cwpl@act.gov.au.

    Source: www.accesscanberra.act.gov.au

White Card ACT questions answered

How do I apply for a white card in the ACT?

Finish the course with an RTO, then apply using your own ACT Digital Account within 60 days of your statement of attainment. After 60 days you need a written declaration from the RTO. A parent or guardian cannot apply for you.

How much does a white card cost in the ACT?

The Canberra course prices we found are $149 (see below). The application fee is set each financial year by the WHS (Fees) Determination, and the Access Canberra page states no dollar figure, so check the current fee when you apply.

Can I work while my ACT white card is processed?

Yes. Your application receipt and training certificate are enough while you wait. If the application is not approved you must stop work. Assessment can take up to 6 weeks and the card is posted within 2 weeks of approval.

Can I do a white card online in the ACT?

The WorkSafe ACT and Access Canberra pages do not say whether online delivery is accepted, so check before booking an online course.

Does an ACT white card expire?

No. Access Canberra says the card is valid indefinitely unless it is cancelled. You must still have done construction work in the preceding 2 years if your training was more than 2 years ago.

How do I replace a lost white card in the ACT?

Link the card in your ACT Digital Account and apply. Cards issued before 2010 in another state must be replaced by that state's authority. Phone 02 6207 8096 or email cwpl@act.gov.au.

Is an interstate white card valid in the ACT?

Yes. Under WHS Regulation 318 the ACT recognises interstate cards, and an ACT card is recognised for construction work in any state or territory.

White Card in other states

Where to next