MR Licence NSW: Cost, Test Fees and Providers
In NSW an MR licence needs a C class licence (not a learner licence) held for 1 or more years, a pass in the Heavy Vehicle Knowledge Test and an eyesight test. You then complete a heavy vehicle competency based assessment (HVCBA) through an RTO, or take a Service NSW heavy vehicle driving test.
Last checked 10 October 2026. Rules and prices change, so confirm with Transport for NSW and Service NSW or the provider before you book.
MR licence NSW at a glance
- Unit code
- TLILIC2015
- Regulator
- Transport for NSW and Service NSW
- Price in NSW
- $1,150 to $1,595 (3 published prices)
- NSW providers compared
- 3
- Last checked
- 10 October 2026
MR licence courses in New South Wales
Published prices run $1,150 to $1,595 across 3 of the 3 NSW providers we compared, taken from each provider’s own course page and sorted cheapest first. Nobody pays for their position.
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro Action Driver Training | $1,150 | 1 day | face-to-face | Penrith NSW, Minchinbury NSW | MR $1,150 for 1 day, automatic or synchromesh. Includes HVCBA training and assessment, the vehicle and one-on-one coaching. Service NSW fees are extra. No RTO number is shown on the page. |
| GLR Training (Gwydir Learning Region) RTO 40724 | $1,450 | See site | face-to-face | Gwydir Shire NSW | MR $1,450. An additional final competency assessment is listed at $200. The page says the MR course is AgSkilled funded for eligible people. Course length and delivery venue are not stated on the page, so the location is the Gwydir Shire Council area only. |
| School of Transport | $1,595 | 1 day | face-to-face | Arundel QLD | MR $1,595, automatic only, 1 day. Extra driving time $160 an hour. The page is the NSW price list and the provider also lists an Arundel QLD office, so confirm which state's course the price covers. No RTO number is shown on the page. |
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Penrith NSW, Minchinbury NSW
MR $1,150 for 1 day, automatic or synchromesh. Includes HVCBA training and assessment, the vehicle and one-on-one coaching. Service NSW fees are extra. No RTO number is shown on the page.
- Duration
- See site
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Gwydir Shire NSW
- RTO
- 40724
MR $1,450. An additional final competency assessment is listed at $200. The page says the MR course is AgSkilled funded for eligible people. Course length and delivery venue are not stated on the page, so the location is the Gwydir Shire Council area only.
- School of Transport$1,595
- Duration
- 1 day
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Arundel QLD
MR $1,595, automatic only, 1 day. Extra driving time $160 an hour. The page is the NSW price list and the provider also lists an Arundel QLD office, so confirm which state's course the price covers. No RTO number is shown on the page.
Working in another state? Every MR licence provider we compared, by state.
MR licence rules in New South Wales
New South Wales: MR needs a C class licence (not a learner licence) held for 1 or more years, a pass in the Heavy Vehicle Knowledge Test, an eyesight test, and a heavy vehicle competency based assessment (HVCBA) through an RTO or a Service NSW heavy vehicle driving test. MR covers vehicles over 8 tonnes GVM with 2 axles, with a trailer up to 9 tonnes GVM.
Source: www.nsw.gov.auNSW fees page lists, for heavy vehicle licensing: Knowledge Test $58 (the Rigid version covers LR, MR and HR), upgrade $34, HVCBA scheme participation $36, driving test $72, log book replacement $11. Licence renewal is $74 for 1 year, $172 for 3 years or $234 for 5 years. Training providers set their own course fees.
Source: www.nsw.gov.au
MR licence NSW questions answered
What do you need for an MR licence in NSW?
A C class licence (not a learner licence) held for 1 or more years, a pass in the Heavy Vehicle Knowledge Test, an eyesight test, and a heavy vehicle competency based assessment (HVCBA) through an RTO or a Service NSW heavy vehicle driving test.
What can you drive with an MR licence in NSW?
MR covers vehicles over 8 tonnes GVM with 2 axles, with a trailer up to 9 tonnes GVM.
What do the NSW MR licence fees cost?
The NSW fees page lists the Knowledge Test at $58 (the Rigid version covers LR, MR and HR), an upgrade at $34, HVCBA scheme participation at $36 and a driving test at $72. A replacement log book is $11. Training providers set their own course fees.
How much does it cost to renew a heavy vehicle licence in NSW?
Licence renewal is $74 for 1 year, $172 for 3 years or $234 for 5 years.
How much does an MR course cost in NSW?
Training providers set their own course fees, compared below from each provider's course page. Pro Action Driver Training's MR price includes HVCBA training and assessment but leaves Service NSW fees extra. GLR Training lists an additional final competency assessment at $200 and says its MR course is AgSkilled funded for eligible people.
MR licence in other states
Where to next
- HR licence
Heavy rigid licence cost, entry rules and providers.
- HC licence
Heavy combination licence cost, entry rules and providers.
- LR licence
Light rigid licence cost, entry rules and providers.
- How to get into mining
Which tickets and licences employers ask for when you start.
- Plan your tickets
Work out which certifications to get first for the role you want.