Standard 11 Emerald: Providers, Cost and Course Dates
4 providers in our data list Emerald for Standard 11. Published prices run $595 to $900 across 4 of them, taken from each provider's own course page (last checked 6 October 2026). Standard 11 is the generic induction for Queensland coal mines.
Last checked 6 October 2026. Prices change, so confirm with the provider before you book.
Standard 11 Emerald at a glance
- Regulator
- Resources Safety and Health Queensland (RSHQ)
- Providers listing Emerald
- 4
- Price in Emerald
- $595 to $900 (4 published prices)
- Last checked
- 6 October 2026
Standard 11 providers that list Emerald
Published prices run $595 to $900 across 4 of the 4 providers, taken from each provider’s own course page and sorted cheapest first. Nobody pays for their position. A provider listing Emerald means its own page names Emerald as a location. Check the provider’s page for what runs there.
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Astra Group RTO 31544 | $595 | Self-paced online theory (1-2 days) + 1 day practical | online + practical | Brendale (Brisbane), Emerald, On-site | Refresher not separately priced on page; states refresh every 5 years. |
| Diggerman Training | $715 | 2 days (new); refresher self-paced online | face-to-face | Coolum Beach, Brisbane, Bundaberg, Cairns, Chinchilla, Dalby, Emerald, Gladstone, Hervey Bay, Mackay, Maryborough, Moreton Bay, Rockhampton, Sunshine Coast, Toowoomba, Townsville | RTO number not shown on the pages loaded. Refresher $385 online (needs S11 Statement of Attainment under 6 years old plus third-party evidence document). Workplace Verification Questionnaire required before or within 6 months after training. |
| Australian Operator Training RTO 41351 | $725 | 2 days (07:30-15:30) | face-to-face | Emerald, Throughout Queensland | Max 12 trainees. Equipment, transport, lunch provided. Refresher not mentioned on page. Min age 16. |
| Coal Train Australia RTO 32507 | $900 | 4 days (theory over 3 days) | face-to-face | Yeppoon, Emerald | Combined Surface & Underground course (adds RIIERR203E). Upgrade $300-$350. Practical log book needed for Statement of Attainment. Says valid 5 years, some sites require 2. |
- Astra Group$595
- Duration
- Self-paced online theory (1-2 days) + 1 day practical
- Delivery
- online + practical
- Where
- Brendale (Brisbane), Emerald, On-site
- RTO
- 31544
Refresher not separately priced on page; states refresh every 5 years.
- Duration
- 2 days (new); refresher self-paced online
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Coolum Beach, Brisbane, Bundaberg, Cairns, Chinchilla, Dalby, Emerald, Gladstone, Hervey Bay, Mackay, Maryborough, Moreton Bay, Rockhampton, Sunshine Coast, Toowoomba, Townsville
RTO number not shown on the pages loaded. Refresher $385 online (needs S11 Statement of Attainment under 6 years old plus third-party evidence document). Workplace Verification Questionnaire required before or within 6 months after training.
- Duration
- 2 days (07:30-15:30)
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Emerald, Throughout Queensland
- RTO
- 41351
Max 12 trainees. Equipment, transport, lunch provided. Refresher not mentioned on page. Min age 16.
- Duration
- 4 days (theory over 3 days)
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Yeppoon, Emerald
- RTO
- 32507
Combined Surface & Underground course (adds RIIERR203E). Upgrade $300-$350. Practical log book needed for Statement of Attainment. Says valid 5 years, some sites require 2.
Elsewhere in Queensland? Every Standard 11 provider we compared.
Course dates and where each price came from
We do not hold session dates for Emerald. Providers set their own intake dates on their booking pages, so use the links below. Each price and the date we checked it are listed here.
- Astra Group $595 (no GST applies to nationally recognised outcomes (per page)), checked 6 October 2026. Source: astragroup.com.au
- Diggerman Training $715 (GST not stated), checked 6 October 2026. Source: www.diggermantraining.com.au
- Australian Operator Training $725, checked 6 October 2026. Source: aot.net.au
- Coal Train Australia $900 (GST not stated), checked 6 October 2026. Source: coaltrain.com.au
What Standard 11 is
Who requires it: the standard applies to Queensland coal mines under the Coal Mining Safety and Health Act 1999. Section 4 says the Queensland Coal Mining Induction (Appendix 3) and a site induction must be developed to ensure appropriate safety information is provided to a Coal Mine Worker prior to commencing work. Site Senior Executives (SSEs) are responsible for the mine training scheme.
Source: www.rshq.qld.gov.auAppendix 3 (Qld Coal Mining Induction): participants shall be trained and assessed against, for a surface mine: RIIWHS201 Work Safely, RIIERR205 Apply Initial First Aid, RIIGOV201 Comply With Site Work Systems, RIIRIS201 Conduct local Risk Assessment, RIICOM201 Communicate in the Workplace, RIIERR302 Respond to Local Emergencies and Incidents. For an underground mine the same list applies but RIIERR203 Escape From a Hazardous Situation Unaided replaces RIIERR302.
Source: www.rshq.qld.gov.auRefresher rules: section 8 of the standard says Section 84 of the Coal Mining Safety and Health Regulation 2017 requires each Coal Mine Worker (including supervisors/managers and certificate of competency holders) to be given refresher training under the mine training scheme at least once in every five years. The SSE is responsible for ensuring this. Refresher training does not necessarily require full training and assessment against the full unit of competency and may be partly achieved by a record of observations.
Source: www.rshq.qld.gov.auProvider-stated: experienced entrants (at least 3 months resources industry work in the last 5 years, with evidence) can do a 1-day experienced entrant/refresher course; new-to-industry people do 2 days.
Source: www.worksafeconnect.com
Standard 11 Emerald questions answered
How much does Standard 11 cost in Emerald?
Of the 4 providers that list Emerald, 4 publish a price: Astra Group $595; Diggerman Training $715; Australian Operator Training $725; Coal Train Australia $900 (combined surface and underground course). Prices come from each provider's own course page, last checked 6 October 2026. Check what each price includes, because course length and delivery differ.
How long is the Standard 11 course in Emerald?
Astra Group: Self-paced online theory (1-2 days) + 1 day practical. Diggerman Training: 2 days (new); refresher self-paced online. Australian Operator Training: 2 days (07:30-15:30). Coal Train Australia: 4 days (theory over 3 days). Providers generally say 1 day for experienced entrants (at least 3 months of resources industry work in the last 5 years, with evidence) and 2 days for people new to the industry.
Is Standard 11 in Emerald online or face-to-face?
Astra Group: online + practical. Diggerman Training: face-to-face. Australian Operator Training: face-to-face. Coal Train Australia: face-to-face.
Can I do a Standard 11 refresher in Emerald?
Astra Group, Diggerman Training and Coal Train Australia say a refresher is offered. Listed refresher prices: Diggerman Training $385; Coal Train Australia $250. Some refresher courses need a current Standard 11 Statement of Attainment, so check the provider's page. The standard requires refresher training at least once every five years under the mine training scheme.
Who needs Standard 11?
Recognised Standard 11 applies to Queensland coal mines under the Coal Mining Safety and Health Act 1999. It requires the Queensland Coal Mining Induction and a site induction before a coal mine worker starts work. The site senior executive is responsible for the mine training scheme.
How long does Standard 11 last?
The standard sets no separate validity period for the induction certificate. It does require each coal mine worker to get refresher training under the mine training scheme at least once every five years.
Standard 11 in other cities
Where to next
- Working in Emerald
Emerald town guide: what the town does, who employs there and how to get there.
- Working in Blackwater
Blackwater town guide: what the town does, who employs there and how to get there.
- Working in Moranbah
Moranbah town guide: what the town does, who employs there and how to get there.
- Standard 11 guide
The full walkthrough of the Queensland coal mining induction.
- Plan your tickets
Work out which certifications to get first for the role you want.