Standard 11 Brisbane: Providers, Cost and Course Dates
7 providers in our data list Brisbane for Standard 11. Published prices run $595 to $715 across 6 of them, taken from each provider's own course page (last checked 6 October 2026). Standard 11 is the generic induction for Queensland coal mines.
Last checked 6 October 2026. Prices change, so confirm with the provider before you book.
Standard 11 Brisbane at a glance
- Regulator
- Resources Safety and Health Queensland (RSHQ)
- Providers listing Brisbane
- 7
- Price in Brisbane
- $595 to $715 (6 published prices)
- Last checked
- 6 October 2026
Standard 11 providers that list Brisbane
Published prices run $595 to $715 across 6 of the 7 providers, taken from each provider’s own course page and sorted cheapest first. Nobody pays for their position. A provider listing Brisbane means its own page names Brisbane as a location. Check the provider’s page for what runs there.
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Astra Group RTO 31544 | $595 | Self-paced online theory (1-2 days) + 1 day practical | online + practical | Brendale (Brisbane), Emerald, On-site | Refresher not separately priced on page; states refresh every 5 years. |
| OHSA RTO 31092 | $645 | 2 days face-to-face, or 1 day face-to-face + 4-6 hrs online pre-study | blended | Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast | Both delivery modes same price. Refresher and online refresher listed but no price on this page. Max 14 per session; in-house on request; states 'BMA Compliant'. |
| Allens Training (trading as A Training / Standard 11 Brisbane) RTO 90909 | $650 | 2 days face-to-face, or self-paced online + 1 day face-to-face assessment | blended | Brisbane (Sunnybank Hills) | Refresher $650 and 1 day online per standards11.com.au (also listed at standard11brisbane.com.au). Page says refresher pricing by inquiry. Practical assessment includes CPR; 'Standard 11 does not guarantee site access'. |
| WorkSafe Connect RTO 31385 | $650 | 2 days (new entrant), 1 day (experienced entrant/refresher) | face-to-face | Brisbane (Salisbury), Townsville (Garbutt), Onsite, Online (live Zoom) | $495 experienced entrant/refresher needs 3+ months resources industry experience in last 5 years with evidence. Offers instructor-led virtual option. No pre-course study or post-course logbooks. |
| Civil Safety RTO 32381 | $695 | Online theory (few hours, within 30 days) + 1 day face-to-face practical (approx 4-6 hrs) | blended | Brisbane, Bundaberg, Cairns, Gladstone, Gold Coast, Mackay, Mareeba, Moranbah, Rockhampton, Townsville, Weipa, Bunbury WA, Kalgoorlie WA, Newman WA, Perth WA, On-site | Online refresher offered (price not shown). Fully face-to-face on inquiry. Afterpay available. Employers may require refresh every 2 to 5 years. Min age 15, USI. |
| Diggerman Training | $715 | 2 days (new); refresher self-paced online | face-to-face | Coolum Beach, Brisbane, Bundaberg, Cairns, Chinchilla, Dalby, Emerald, Gladstone, Hervey Bay, Mackay, Maryborough, Moreton Bay, Rockhampton, Sunshine Coast, Toowoomba, Townsville | RTO number not shown on the pages loaded. Refresher $385 online (needs S11 Statement of Attainment under 6 years old plus third-party evidence document). Workplace Verification Questionnaire required before or within 6 months after training. |
| Sheer Workplace Training RTO 45597 | See site | 2 days (max 16 hours) | face-to-face | Hemmant (Brisbane), Manly (Brisbane) | Fees not listed ('communicated prior to enrolment'). Page states no intakes currently available. Min age 17. |
- Astra Group$595
- Duration
- Self-paced online theory (1-2 days) + 1 day practical
- Delivery
- online + practical
- Where
- Brendale (Brisbane), Emerald, On-site
- RTO
- 31544
Refresher not separately priced on page; states refresh every 5 years.
- OHSA$645
- Duration
- 2 days face-to-face, or 1 day face-to-face + 4-6 hrs online pre-study
- Delivery
- blended
- Where
- Brisbane, Gold Coast, Sunshine Coast
- RTO
- 31092
Both delivery modes same price. Refresher and online refresher listed but no price on this page. Max 14 per session; in-house on request; states 'BMA Compliant'.
- Duration
- 2 days face-to-face, or self-paced online + 1 day face-to-face assessment
- Delivery
- blended
- Where
- Brisbane (Sunnybank Hills)
- RTO
- 90909
Refresher $650 and 1 day online per standards11.com.au (also listed at standard11brisbane.com.au). Page says refresher pricing by inquiry. Practical assessment includes CPR; 'Standard 11 does not guarantee site access'.
- WorkSafe Connect$650
- Duration
- 2 days (new entrant), 1 day (experienced entrant/refresher)
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Brisbane (Salisbury), Townsville (Garbutt), Onsite, Online (live Zoom)
- RTO
- 31385
$495 experienced entrant/refresher needs 3+ months resources industry experience in last 5 years with evidence. Offers instructor-led virtual option. No pre-course study or post-course logbooks.
- Civil Safety$695
- Duration
- Online theory (few hours, within 30 days) + 1 day face-to-face practical (approx 4-6 hrs)
- Delivery
- blended
- Where
- Brisbane, Bundaberg, Cairns, Gladstone, Gold Coast, Mackay, Mareeba, Moranbah, Rockhampton, Townsville, Weipa, Bunbury WA, Kalgoorlie WA, Newman WA, Perth WA, On-site
- RTO
- 32381
Online refresher offered (price not shown). Fully face-to-face on inquiry. Afterpay available. Employers may require refresh every 2 to 5 years. Min age 15, USI.
- Duration
- 2 days (new); refresher self-paced online
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Coolum Beach, Brisbane, Bundaberg, Cairns, Chinchilla, Dalby, Emerald, Gladstone, Hervey Bay, Mackay, Maryborough, Moreton Bay, Rockhampton, Sunshine Coast, Toowoomba, Townsville
RTO number not shown on the pages loaded. Refresher $385 online (needs S11 Statement of Attainment under 6 years old plus third-party evidence document). Workplace Verification Questionnaire required before or within 6 months after training.
- Sheer Workplace TrainingSee site
- Duration
- 2 days (max 16 hours)
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Hemmant (Brisbane), Manly (Brisbane)
- RTO
- 45597
Fees not listed ('communicated prior to enrolment'). Page states no intakes currently available. Min age 17.
Elsewhere in Queensland? Every Standard 11 provider we compared.
Course dates and where each price came from
We do not hold session dates for Brisbane. Providers set their own intake dates on their booking pages, so use the links below. Each price and the date we checked it are listed here.
- Astra Group $595 (no GST applies to nationally recognised outcomes (per page)), checked 6 October 2026. Source: astragroup.com.au
- OHSA $645, checked 6 October 2026. Source: www.ohsa.com.au
- Allens Training (trading as A Training / Standard 11 Brisbane) $650 (GST free), checked 6 October 2026. Source: atraining.com.au
- WorkSafe Connect $650 (GST not shown; refresher page lists $495.00 AUD), checked 6 October 2026. Source: www.worksafeconnect.com
- Civil Safety $695 (GST not stated), checked 6 October 2026. Source: civilsafety.edu.au
- Diggerman Training $715 (GST not stated), checked 6 October 2026. Source: www.diggermantraining.com.au
- Sheer Workplace Training no price shown, checked 6 October 2026. Source: sheerworkplacetraining.com.au
What Standard 11 is
Who requires it: the standard applies to Queensland coal mines under the Coal Mining Safety and Health Act 1999. Section 4 says the Queensland Coal Mining Induction (Appendix 3) and a site induction must be developed to ensure appropriate safety information is provided to a Coal Mine Worker prior to commencing work. Site Senior Executives (SSEs) are responsible for the mine training scheme.
Source: www.rshq.qld.gov.auAppendix 3 (Qld Coal Mining Induction): participants shall be trained and assessed against, for a surface mine: RIIWHS201 Work Safely, RIIERR205 Apply Initial First Aid, RIIGOV201 Comply With Site Work Systems, RIIRIS201 Conduct local Risk Assessment, RIICOM201 Communicate in the Workplace, RIIERR302 Respond to Local Emergencies and Incidents. For an underground mine the same list applies but RIIERR203 Escape From a Hazardous Situation Unaided replaces RIIERR302.
Source: www.rshq.qld.gov.auRefresher rules: section 8 of the standard says Section 84 of the Coal Mining Safety and Health Regulation 2017 requires each Coal Mine Worker (including supervisors/managers and certificate of competency holders) to be given refresher training under the mine training scheme at least once in every five years. The SSE is responsible for ensuring this. Refresher training does not necessarily require full training and assessment against the full unit of competency and may be partly achieved by a record of observations.
Source: www.rshq.qld.gov.auProvider-stated: experienced entrants (at least 3 months resources industry work in the last 5 years, with evidence) can do a 1-day experienced entrant/refresher course; new-to-industry people do 2 days.
Source: www.worksafeconnect.com
Standard 11 Brisbane questions answered
How much does Standard 11 cost in Brisbane?
Of the 7 providers that list Brisbane, 6 publish a price: Astra Group $595; OHSA $645; Allens Training (trading as A Training / Standard 11 Brisbane) $650; WorkSafe Connect $650; Civil Safety $695; Diggerman Training $715. Sheer Workplace Training does not show a price on the page we loaded. Prices come from each provider's own course page, last checked 6 October 2026. Check what each price includes, because course length and delivery differ.
How long is the Standard 11 course in Brisbane?
Astra Group: Self-paced online theory (1-2 days) + 1 day practical. OHSA: 2 days face-to-face, or 1 day face-to-face + 4-6 hrs online pre-study. Allens Training (trading as A Training / Standard 11 Brisbane): 2 days face-to-face, or self-paced online + 1 day face-to-face assessment. WorkSafe Connect: 2 days (new entrant), 1 day (experienced entrant/refresher). Civil Safety: Online theory (few hours, within 30 days) + 1 day face-to-face practical (approx 4-6 hrs). Diggerman Training: 2 days (new); refresher self-paced online. Sheer Workplace Training: 2 days (max 16 hours). Providers generally say 1 day for experienced entrants (at least 3 months of resources industry work in the last 5 years, with evidence) and 2 days for people new to the industry.
Is Standard 11 in Brisbane online or face-to-face?
Astra Group: online + practical. OHSA: blended. Allens Training (trading as A Training / Standard 11 Brisbane): blended. WorkSafe Connect: face-to-face. Civil Safety: blended. Diggerman Training: face-to-face. Sheer Workplace Training: face-to-face.
Can I do a Standard 11 refresher in Brisbane?
Astra Group, OHSA, Allens Training (trading as A Training / Standard 11 Brisbane), WorkSafe Connect, Civil Safety and Diggerman Training say a refresher is offered. Listed refresher prices: Allens Training (trading as A Training / Standard 11 Brisbane) $650; WorkSafe Connect $495; Diggerman Training $385. Some refresher courses need a current Standard 11 Statement of Attainment, so check the provider's page. The standard requires refresher training at least once every five years under the mine training scheme.
Who needs Standard 11?
Recognised Standard 11 applies to Queensland coal mines under the Coal Mining Safety and Health Act 1999. It requires the Queensland Coal Mining Induction and a site induction before a coal mine worker starts work. The site senior executive is responsible for the mine training scheme.
How long does Standard 11 last?
The standard sets no separate validity period for the induction certificate. It does require each coal mine worker to get refresher training under the mine training scheme at least once every five years.
Standard 11 in other cities
Where to next
- FIFO jobs from Brisbane
Fly-in fly-out mining work from Brisbane.
- Standard 11 guide
The full walkthrough of the Queensland coal mining induction.
- Plan your tickets
Work out which certifications to get first for the role you want.