Forklift Licence NSW: Cost, Renewal and Providers
In NSW a forklift licence (class LF) is a high risk work licence issued by SafeWork NSW. You must be 18 or over, train with an RTO, pass assessment with an accredited assessor, then apply through Service NSW within 60 days. The licence lasts 5 years. The 2026-27 fee is $95 per class, or $88 to renew.
Last checked 10 October 2026. Rules and prices change, so confirm with SafeWork NSW or the provider before you book.
Forklift NSW at a glance
- Unit code
- TLILIC0003
- Regulator
- SafeWork NSW
- Price in NSW
- $346 to $730 (10 published prices)
- NSW providers compared
- 11
- Last checked
- 10 October 2026
Forklift courses in New South Wales
Published prices run $346 to $730 across 10 of the 11 NSW providers we compared, taken from each provider’s own course page and sorted cheapest first. Nobody pays for their position.
| Provider | Price | Duration | Delivery | Locations | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Licences 4 Work | $346 | 2 days training plus 1 day assessment (Standard); 1 day training plus assessment (Advanced) | face-to-face | Cardiff and East Maitland, NSW | Published as a 'from' price during an October sale, usual price $480. Page is inconsistent: FAQ lists $408 from for Standard. Confirm at booking. |
| TP Training | $400 | 2 days training plus separate 1 day SafeWork NSW assessment | face-to-face | Auburn, NSW | Published as 'Now $400' with $450 shown beside it. Page also mentions Seven Hills. |
| All Class Training | $460 | 2 days including assessment | face-to-face | Tomago (Newcastle), NSW | Published as $460.00 (GST Free) per person. Page also offers onsite training at workplaces. Facebook link names All Class Training PL, RTO 70245. |
| Assess To Lift RTO 91574 | $490 | 3 days (2 days training plus assessment on day 3) | face-to-face | Tuggerah | Plus a licence application fee payable to Service NSW. A free licence re-assessment is offered. Must be 18 or older. |
| Intercept Training | $490 | 2 days training plus 1 day SafeWork NSW assessment | face-to-face | Tuggerah (Central Coast), NSW | Course fee listed $490 but event listing shows $450.00 individual price. Listed event dates (Nov 2025) are closed, so check current dates. |
| Programmed Training Centre Sydney | $499 | 3 days (2 days training plus 1 day assessment) | face-to-face | Seven Hills, NSW | Beginner course $499. Experienced operator course $399, 2 days. Both need about 3 hours online pre-course study. |
| Linfox RTO 103554 | $580 | VIC 2 days; NSW and QLD 3 days | face-to-face | Laverton North, Erskine Park, Willawong | External participant fee $580 in VIC and $650 in NSW and QLD. Linfox employees pay $480. Fees exclude the regulator application fee. |
| Specialised Safety (Dubbo) | $595 | 3 days | face-to-face | Dubbo, NSW | Published as $595. Separate SafeWork NSW assessment and licensing fee apply per page. |
| Specialised Safety (Bathurst) | $650 | 3 days | face-to-face | Bathurst, NSW | Published as $650, same page as Dubbo. Nearest listed option to Orange. |
| Risk Response + Rescue RTO 90774 | $730 | 2 days plus SafeWork NSW assessment | face-to-face | NSW (training facility or client site; address not stated on the page) | $730 is $630 training plus $100 assessment. Reassessment fee $220. The page listed this course as group bookings only at the time of checking. |
| Absolute Forklift Training | See site | Approximately 2 days, 7am to 3pm | face-to-face | Rutherford (Newcastle), NSW | No total fee published on this page. Page lists $245 deposit, extra days $150 weekday or $200 night/weekend, SafeWork test re-sit $200 weekday or $250 weekend. Page also lists a Seven Hills address. |
- Licences 4 Work$346
- Duration
- 2 days training plus 1 day assessment (Standard); 1 day training plus assessment (Advanced)
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Cardiff and East Maitland, NSW
Published as a 'from' price during an October sale, usual price $480. Page is inconsistent: FAQ lists $408 from for Standard. Confirm at booking.
- TP Training$400
- Duration
- 2 days training plus separate 1 day SafeWork NSW assessment
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Auburn, NSW
Published as 'Now $400' with $450 shown beside it. Page also mentions Seven Hills.
- Duration
- 2 days including assessment
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Tomago (Newcastle), NSW
Published as $460.00 (GST Free) per person. Page also offers onsite training at workplaces. Facebook link names All Class Training PL, RTO 70245.
- Assess To Lift$490
- Duration
- 3 days (2 days training plus assessment on day 3)
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Tuggerah
- RTO
- 91574
Plus a licence application fee payable to Service NSW. A free licence re-assessment is offered. Must be 18 or older.
- Duration
- 2 days training plus 1 day SafeWork NSW assessment
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Tuggerah (Central Coast), NSW
Course fee listed $490 but event listing shows $450.00 individual price. Listed event dates (Nov 2025) are closed, so check current dates.
- Duration
- 3 days (2 days training plus 1 day assessment)
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Seven Hills, NSW
Beginner course $499. Experienced operator course $399, 2 days. Both need about 3 hours online pre-course study.
- Linfox$580
- Duration
- VIC 2 days; NSW and QLD 3 days
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Laverton North, Erskine Park, Willawong
- RTO
- 103554
External participant fee $580 in VIC and $650 in NSW and QLD. Linfox employees pay $480. Fees exclude the regulator application fee.
- Duration
- 3 days
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Dubbo, NSW
Published as $595. Separate SafeWork NSW assessment and licensing fee apply per page.
- Duration
- 3 days
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Bathurst, NSW
Published as $650, same page as Dubbo. Nearest listed option to Orange.
- Duration
- 2 days plus SafeWork NSW assessment
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- NSW (training facility or client site; address not stated on the page)
- RTO
- 90774
$730 is $630 training plus $100 assessment. Reassessment fee $220. The page listed this course as group bookings only at the time of checking.
- Absolute Forklift TrainingSee site
- Duration
- Approximately 2 days, 7am to 3pm
- Delivery
- face-to-face
- Where
- Rutherford (Newcastle), NSW
No total fee published on this page. Page lists $245 deposit, extra days $150 weekday or $200 night/weekend, SafeWork test re-sit $200 weekday or $250 weekend. Page also lists a Seven Hills address.
Working in another state? Every Forklift provider we compared, by state.
Forklift rules in New South Wales
NSW: A high risk work licence expires after 5 years. Added classes expire with the licence.
Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.auNSW: The minimum age is 18. The applicant must speak English well enough and be assessed by a SafeWork NSW accredited assessor working for the RTO.
Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.auNSW: Apply online for an assessment enrolment number, attend the assessment, then apply for the licence within 60 days of the Notice of Satisfactory Assessment issue date.
Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.auNSW: The Notice of Satisfactory Assessment is valid for 60 days from assessment. The NSA or the digital licence can be shown while the card is awaited.
Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.auNSW: A renewal reminder is sent about 60 days before expiry. A licence can be renewed up to 12 months after expiry, otherwise the person must retrain and be reassessed. Work can continue if the renewal is submitted before expiry.
Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.auNSW: Renew online through Service NSW. Call 13 10 50 if unable to renew online.
Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.auNSW: A renewed licence is valid for 5 years from the previous expiry date, and renewal can be lodged online up to 12 months after expiry.
Source: www.service.nsw.gov.auNSW: 2026-27 fees are $95 per class for a new 5-year licence, $88 for a 5-year renewal, $43 for a replacement and $36 for a replacement ordered online.
Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.auNSW: A replacement can be ordered online if details match, by calling 13 10 50, or by taking a printed form to a Service NSW centre. The old card must be returned within 7 days of the new one arriving.
Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.auNSW: A replacement cannot be ordered online if the card was never received or has a printing error. Call 13 77 88 instead.
Source: www.service.nsw.gov.auNSW: An assessment enrolment number requires age 18 or older and the person must be assessed within 30 days of getting the number. No general NSW residency rule is stated on the page.
Source: www.service.nsw.gov.auNSW: An interstate licence must be issued by the state where the person usually lives. It can be transferred into NSW if current or within 12 months of expiry.
Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.auNSW: Forklift classes are LF and LO. Telehandlers with forks or a bucket need no high risk work licence.
Source: www.safework.nsw.gov.au
Forklift NSW questions answered
How do I get a forklift licence in NSW?
Apply online for an assessment enrolment number (you must be 18 or over, and be assessed within 30 days of getting it). Train with an RTO and be assessed by a SafeWork NSW accredited assessor working for that RTO. Then apply for the licence through Service NSW within 60 days of your Notice of Satisfactory Assessment. You can show the notice or the digital licence while the card is on its way.
How do I renew a forklift licence in NSW?
Renew online through Service NSW, or call 13 10 50 if you cannot. SafeWork NSW sends a reminder about 60 days before expiry. You can keep working if you submit the renewal before the licence expires. The renewed licence runs 5 years from the previous expiry date. The 2026-27 renewal fee is $88 per class.
Can I renew an expired forklift licence in NSW?
Yes, up to 12 months after it expires. After that you must retrain and be reassessed.
How much does a forklift licence cost in NSW?
There are two costs. The course is paid to the RTO, and NSW course prices are compared below. The licence fee is paid to SafeWork NSW: for 2026-27 it is $95 per class for a new 5-year licence, $88 to renew, $43 for a replacement, or $36 for a replacement ordered online.
How do I replace a lost forklift licence in NSW?
Order it online if your details match, call 13 10 50, or take a printed form to a Service NSW centre. If the card was never received or has a printing error, call 13 77 88 instead. Return the old card within 7 days of the new one arriving if you find it.
Can I use an interstate forklift licence in NSW?
SafeWork NSW says an interstate licence must be issued by the state where you usually live. It can be transferred into NSW if it is current or within 12 months of expiry.
Do I need a forklift licence for a telehandler in NSW?
No. SafeWork NSW says telehandlers with forks or a bucket need no high risk work licence. The forklift classes are LF (forklift truck) and LO (order picking forklift truck).
Forklift in other states
Where to next
- Forklift licence renewal Renewal window, regulator fee and what to do if your licence has expired, by state.
- High risk work licence guide Which tickets need a licence, how to apply and how renewal works.
- Working at heights The height safety ticket often asked for on site and maintenance work.
- How to get into mining Which tickets and licences employers ask for when you start.
- Plan your tickets Work out which certifications to get first for the role you want.